West China Hospital Won the Nightingale Medal Once Again

Date:Jun 26, 2023

After Cheng Yijuan of the West China Hospital won the 44th Florence Nightingale Medal in 2013, Jiang Yan has been awarded the Florence Nightingale Medal 2023. Up to now, the WCH has two Nightingale Medal winners.

Jiang Yan                        Cheng Yijuan

On the occasion of the "May 12" International Nurses Day, the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) announced the list of winners of the 49th Florence Nightingale Medal in 2023. A total of 37 nurses from 22 countries won this distinction.

A registered nurse, Jiang Yan is director of Nursing Department in the West China Hospital and associate dean of the West China School of Nursing, Sichuan University. She is notably active in disaster situations and in the field of nursing education, and has improved the development of evidence-based nursing in Sichuan.

Jiang Yan has been devoted to medical and health work for 27 years, faithfully serving the medical and health industry. she volunteers to be a gatekeeper of people's health. Moreover, she has been committed to the research and practice of disaster care for a long time, and participated in medical rescue such as the Wenchuan Earthquake in 2008, the Changning Earthquake in Yibin in 2019, and the COVID-19 pandemic in Africa in 2020. She innovatively adopted the oxygenation index oriented early long term prone position ventilation combined with oxygen respiratory support and the stepwise nutrition management model for patients with COVID-19 to solve the conflict between prone position ventilation and lung rehabilitation and enteral nutrition. In recognition of her outstanding contribution in guiding the prevention and control of COVID-19 in Africa, the Republic of Djibouti awarded her the Independence Day Medal.

Jiang Yan always upholds the notion that technological innovation drives the development of clinical nursing, and advocates evidence-based nursing practice. Over the past 17 years, she has remained steadfast in using scientific methods to treat stroke patients and achieved breakthroughs. She has also promoted the effectiveness of advanced nursing practices to grassroots medical institutions, expanding the range of benefits for patients.

In addition, she has presided over general projects of the National Natural Science Foundation of China, published 95 papers and 28 books. Her honors and achievements include the "Outstanding Nursing Worker" of the Chinese Nursing Society, the "Great Beauty Doctor of Healthful Sichuan", the first chief expert of health care in Sichuan Province, the excellent quality management team of the All-China Federation of Trade Unions, the Nightingale Volunteer Service Nurses Volunteer Contribution Award in China, the Excellent Volunteer of the Sichuan Red Cross Society, the Asian Hospital Management Gold Award, and Second Prize of the Sichuan Provincial Science and Technology Progress Award, etc.

The Florence Nightingale Medal. The Florence Nightingale Medal is the highest international distinction that can be awarded to anurse. It recognizes exceptional courage and devotion to caring for victims of a conflict or natural disaster, or exemplary services or a creative and pioneering spirit in the areas of public health or nursing education. The recipients were nominated by their respective National Red Cross or Red Crescent Society and selected by a commission comprised of the ICRC, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) and the International Council of Nurses.

On a:Yin Rutie Was Selected as “Good Doctors and Good Nurses in China”

The next article:Wang Yuzhong and Wang Hongning Won the Third National Innovation Excellence Award

Shut down

© 2020 World-Class University Development Office